Ceramic Drawer Progression

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I successfully glazed a drawer front which fired to 1040 so that it wouldn’t slump in the middle. I’m going to use this piece as the final drawer front as the off-white colour of the clay works well with the oak body of the bedside table.

IMG_0355IMG_0536

 

I also did some coloured glazes to demonstrate what the table would look like with oak against colour. The purple and coral below are a clear and underglaze mix on white St Thomas slip that fired at 1100, there was slight warping at this temperature however it isn’t that noticeable.

 

 

IMG_0563IMG_0565

 

I also tested out some colours on porcelain but they slumped significantly due to being fired to 1280. To get around this I am going to try propping the porcelain up with a crank support underneath and fire it to 1260.

IMG_0521 IMG_0519 IMG_0522

 

 

 



Leave a comment